How Does the New Jersey Points System Work? | Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC

New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyers

Our Experienced Attorneys Can Help

FREE CONSULTATION

How Does the New Jersey Points System Work?

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission’s points system tracks your traffic violations and penalties, keeping a permanent record. You will be assessed a surcharge, also known as a fine, with a variable amount depending on the type, number, and frequency of the violations.

You will also earn points that can quickly lead to a suspension of your license. These points are very difficult to remove, so it is best to avoid them to begin with by fighting the ticket.

 

The New Jersey Point System

As you commit offenses and are either found guilty or do not contest the charges, you will have points assessed to your license. You get assessed a surcharge if you get six or more points within three years, and your license will be suspended if you get twelve or more points in that time period.

Below is a short list of some of the more common violations seen in New Jersey and their point-based penalties. The best way to avoid losing your license or paying a fortune in fines and rising insurance premiums is to find a way to prevent them from accruing to begin with. To do that, contact a local attorney from our firm today. If you would like a more complete listing, then please visit the New Jersey MVC’s website.

 

New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway, and Atlantic City Expressway

Violation Points Assessed
Moving Against Traffic 2
Improper Passing 4
Unlawful Use of Median Strip 2

 

All Roads and Highways

Violations Points Assessed
Careless Driving 2
Reckless Driving 5
Tailgating 5
Speeding, 1–14 mph over 2
Speeding, 15–29 mph over 4
Speeding, 30 mph or more over 5
Passing in a No Passing Zone 4

 

Reducing Points from Your New Jersey Drivers License

Once you have accrued points, there are only a few ways to get them taken off of your license. You can avoid all violations and suspensions of any kind for a full year from your last offense. You can also enroll in a defensive driving program to remove two points, but this can only be done once every five years. You may also be ordered into the Driver Improvement Program (DIP) or the Probationary Driver Program (PDP) after reaching the point limit.

Some of these are not necessarily easy courses, and they all involve large time commitments on your part. They involve hours of study and hours of testing. One more thing to consider is that many insurance companies don’t acknowledge points being removed from your license, which is all the more reason to fight your traffic ticket from the start.

 

Get a Free Consultation Today!

No matter how close to the point limit you are, you should seek a way to reduce your long-term insurance costs and surcharges, because they will mount up quickly. You owe it to your family, your work, and yourself to keep your finances in order and your license clear.

Call 1-800-531-6442 to get a free consultation with a friendly attorney from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC. You can also fill out the form below to schedule a time for an associate to contact you.