Can I Really Do Jail Time for My New Jersey Traffic Violation? | Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC

New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyers

Our Experienced Attorneys Can Help

FREE CONSULTATION

Can I Really Do Jail Time for My New Jersey Traffic Violation?

Traffic violations do not always require jail time as punishment, but many do have that option—and the more serious ones always do. Leaving the scene of an accident, reckless driving, even much lesser violations can require jail time if you cannot pay the fine, which many cannot.

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) has minimum mandatory points, fines, jail time, and other penalties for every violation. These usually allow the option to accept either fines or jail time, both of which can have long-lasting repercussions on your life and finances.

The best way to avoid all of these issues is to fight the charges and points with the help of a New Jersey traffic attorney from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC.

 

Types of Motor Vehicle Violations and Penalties

There is a wide variety of motor vehicle violations that you can be charged with, and all of them carry tough penalties. The fines are costly, the points raise your insurance rates, and jail time is so much worse, so you need to fight every ticket you can.

Listed below are some of the more common and costly offenses with possible imprisonment penalties:

  • Driving Without a License – Fine of $200 to $500 or imprisonment for not more than sixty days and no license issued for at least 180 days
  • Reckless Driving
    • First Offense – Fine of $50 to $200 or imprisonment not exceeding sixty days—or both
    • Subsequent Offense – Fine of $100 to $500 or imprisonment not exceeding three months—or both
  • Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Injury or Death
    • First Offense – Fine of $500 to $1,000 or 180 days imprisonment—or both—and suspension of driving privileges for one year from date of conviction
      • Imprisonment shall be imposed only if injury to another person has occurred
    • Subsequent Offense – Fine of $1,000 to $2,000 or 180 days imprisonment from date of conviction—or both—and permanent forfeiture of drivers license
      • Imprisonment shall be imposed only if injury to another person has occurred
  • Failure to Carry Motor Vehicle Insurance Coverage
    • First Offense – Fine of $300 to $1,000, a period of community service as determined by the court, and suspension of driving privileges for one year
    • Subsequent Offense – Fine of up to $5,000, subject to fourteen days imprisonment, thirty days community service, and suspension of driving privileges for two years from date of conviction

These are only a few of the many infractions you can be imprisoned for, and you absolutely need to fight them. You will have a much better chance of success with the help of an experienced attorney from our firm.

 

What a Lawyer Can Do

We will manage all of your legal responsibilities so that you can focus on simply living your life. We will handle your legal documents and deadlines, stand in for you at court whenever possible, and explain all of your options to you clearly. Most importantly, we may be able to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed, a possibility made even more likely if you are a first-time offender.

 

Free Consultation with a New Jersey Traffic Violation Lawyer

Whether you were speeding thirty miles over the speed limit or driving with a suspended license, you could face serious fines, jail time, higher insurance premiums, permanent loss of your drivers license, public humiliation, and job loss. These are serious problems for you and your family’s future, so you owe it to yourself to fight these charges.

With the help of the experienced traffic attorneys from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC, we can find a way to avoid the worst of the points, fines, and jail time you face. If you would like to schedule a free legal evaluation, please call us at 1-800-531-6442, or you can fill out the form below. Don’t risk the possibility of going to jail; call now!