Jean Baptiste & Associates
New Jersey Cell Phone Ticket Lawyer
Getting ticketed for using a cell phone while driving might seem absurd, but it happens all the time in New Jersey. If you’ve been cited for tablet or phone use while behind the wheel, find out if your ticket can be beat by consulting a New Jersey cell phone ticket lawyer.
Driving while using a cell phone—whether for texting, talking, or using an app—is something virtually all of us do from time to time. Unfortunately, having an electronic device of any sort in hand while driving, whether a cell phone or a tablet, is illegal in New Jersey and can result in some expensive fines and other potential penalties.
If you have received one of these citations, you need to fight this just as you would any other traffic violation, and you will want a New Jersey cell phone ticket lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC to provide you with sound legal counsel and representation.
Driving and Cell Phone or Tablet Use in New Jersey
New Jersey, along with many other states, is changing traffic laws in response to the huge spike in distracted driving accidents. These changes make holding a cell phone an offense that a police officer can not only ticket you for, but can also use as grounds to initiate a traffic stop. Your New Jersey cell phone ticket lawyer will investigate and determine if your reason for being pulled over was suspect.
The penalties have gone up significantly, as well. If you are convicted of talking, texting, or communicating in any way on a handheld wireless communications device, the penalties are as follows:
- First Offense – Fine of $200–$400
- Second Offense – Fine of $400–$600
- Third Offense and Beyond – Fine of $600–$800
- Beginning with the third offense and for any subsequent offense, you will have three points assessed to your drivers license.
- You may receive a ninety-day drivers license suspension as well.
New Jersey Driving Points
A cell phone ticket is not only expensive, it could actually end up costing you your license. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) keeps track of all driver violations and dictates the penalties assessed through a point system. Like nearly every other state, each violation has a corresponding number of points that will be charged to your license. If you reach six points, you have to pay three years’ worth of annual surcharges, with each costing $150 with another $25 for every point past six.
If you reach twelve points, you will still have to pay your surcharges and court fees, and your license will be suspended until a judge orders you to attend a defensive driving program. When you pay your penalties and pass the class, you will then only receive a probationary drivers license. Any traffic infraction committed during that probationary time is an automatic suspension—all of which is why it’s important to fight every ticket with help from a New Jersey cell phone ticket lawyer.
Work with a New Jersey Cell Phone Ticket Lawyer
If you or someone you know has been cited for cell phone use while driving, you have a duty to both yourself and your family to fight the ticket. The fallout can affect your finances, job, and mobility for years to come. You should contact a New Jersey cell phone ticket lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC as soon as you can to get the legal process started and give yourself the best chance of getting your charges reduced or dismissed.
Give us a call to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss the details of your case. You can also fill out the form below to have an associate call you back at your leisure. Choosing to plead guilty will be much harder on you in the long run and could cost far more.