Jean Baptiste & Associates
New Jersey Driving Without a License Lawyer
Maybe you forgot your wallet or forgot to renew your license. Either way, getting pulled over without a drivers license is an expensive mistake that may carry heavy penalties. License and registration are important to have with you at any time you are driving your car, and you are unlikely to receive leniency from the police officer.
If you have been charged with this violation, please contact a New Jersey driving without a license lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC right away so that we can begin building your case and keep you in the driver’s seat.
No License, Big Penalties
There are three loose variations on driving without a license that can all carry fines, jail time, license suspension or revocation, and New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) and insurance points.
Points are used to track offenses and penalize repeat offenders through surcharges and license suspensions. Insurance companies will often raise their premiums with each point you receive. A New Jersey driving without a license lawyer will be able to better explain your particular violation, but these are the three common ways to violate this law.
Forgot License at Home
If you have a license, but simply left your wallet or purse at home, your New Jersey driving without a license lawyer may be able to get the infraction dismissed if we can prove to the judge that you were licensed at the time of the citation. You may still be ordered to pay for court costs, and you may receive two points on your license.
Driving with an Expired License
If your license expired or you never had one in the first place, you will face a fine of between $250 and $500, assessed a surcharge of $100 per year for three years, receive a six-month restriction from applying for a license, and be assigned four MVC points. You are more likely to be charged the full $500 fine if you were driving on an expired license.
Driving with a Suspended License
If you were driving on a suspended or revoked license, you will see a fine of up to $1,200 if it is only a class B misdemeanor. If your violation is considered a class A misdemeanor, you will face a fine of up to $2,000 and up to one year in jail. You will also be assessed a surcharge of $250 per year for three years and charged a large number of points on your already suspended or revoked license.
Contact a New Jersey Driving Without a License Lawyer
If you or someone you know has been accused of driving without a license in New Jersey, fighting the charge is almost a necessity considering the number of points on the table and the steep fines. Please contact a New Jersey driving without a license lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC as soon as possible so that we can start putting together our defense.
Give us a call to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation at your earliest convenience. You can also fill out the form below to set a time for one of our associates to contact you. Protect yourself as best you can with the best legal help available.