Jean Baptiste & Associates
New Jersey Driving Without Registration Lawyer
Vehicle registration is a very important part of the privilege of owning and driving a motor vehicle. Registration is used to keep track of who owns a car for tax and theft purposes, and regular re-registration requires vehicle inspections to make sure your car is safe for operation.
If you have been ticketed for driving without registration, you should seek the legal counsel of a New Jersey driving without registration lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC as soon as possible so that we can help you explore your options.
New Jersey No-Registration Penalties
Whether you are a local or a visitor to our great state, driving without registration can result in an expensive citation and is very easily avoided. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) tracks most violations by issuing points for infractions that can cost you surcharges, license suspensions, and insurance hikes, which is why it is so important to fight every ticket.
Luckily, this infraction does not carry any points for your license, but your insurance company might have other policies involving violations that don’t have point penalties.
Penalties for Residents of New Jersey
For a New Jersey resident, failing to exhibit documents, including license, registration, or an insurance card, will result in a fine of $180, although driving without a license or insurance can carry far heftier penalties as well. If we can exhibit a registration that was valid on the date of the citation to the court, then the judge will probably dismiss the case but may still charge you court costs.
If your vehicle was not actually registered at the time, then your options will be limited. A New Jersey driving without registration lawyer might be able to find a way to plead it down or find a clerical error, and this is something we will discuss with you during your free consultation.
Visitors to New Jersey
For our visiting friends, non-residents face the same fine of $180, but they are also subject to possible jail time for up to sixty days. If you are from out of state, you will want to retain a local New Jersey driving without registration lawyer who is familiar with New Jersey laws, prosecutors, and judges. You also don’t want to pay for an out-of-state lawyer to travel to New Jersey.
Free Consultation with a New Jersey Driving Without Registration Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been ticketed for driving without registration, then you should definitely fight it, especially if you were registered or there was some other misunderstanding. Seeking the advice of a New Jersey driving without registration lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC will help you choose the best path forward and protect you from fines, surcharges, and a possible jail sentence.
Please give us a call to schedule a free consultation at a time that is convenient for you, or you can fill out the form below to have an associate contact you when you would prefer.