Jean Baptiste & Associates
New Jersey Reckless Driving Lawyer
Traffic tickets are stressful and expensive, especially when you are being accused of one of the more serious traffic violations. Besides being extremely dangerous and the cause of many accidents, reckless driving carries heavy fines, potential jail sentences, and drivers license points.
If you have received this citation, you should contact a New Jersey reckless driving lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC as quickly as you can because there are more than just the immediate costs to consider.
What Is Reckless Driving?
Reckless driving is a charge that is usually added onto other charges such as excessive speeding or drunk driving. It can also be used if you are found to be at fault in an accident due to intentional behavior.
Reckless driving is differentiated from careless driving by the intentions of the driver. Reckless driving requires that you are knowingly and intentionally committing moving violations that could endanger people or property, whereas careless driving is unintentional and more accidental. A New Jersey reckless driving lawyer will be able to differentiate between the two and explain the penalties and your options.
Reckless Driving Penalties
The penalties for a first reckless driving offense include a fine of between $50 and $200 or sixty days in jail—or both. You will also be charged with five motor vehicle points and five insurance points which do not expire.
If you receive a second reckless driving violation, your penalty will either be a fine of between $100 and $500 or up to ninety days jail time, or both. You will also receive the same five vehicle and insurance points again.
Reckless driving is one of the most expensive and high-point moving violations, so fighting it is really the only choice, especially if you received it paired with another violation.
Fighting a Reckless Driving Ticket
Building your defense begins with trying to make a plea deal for a lesser violation with the prosecuting attorney. The best alternatives would be getting it reduced to obstructing traffic, but even careless driving would be preferable to reckless driving.
There is one other “silver bullet” option that can be used, but it should be held in reserve for the worst violations or other no-options, last-points scenarios, as it can only ever be used three times. If the prosecutor refuses to lower the charges to one of the previously mentioned infractions, then our New Jersey reckless driving lawyer might be able to convince him or her to agree to a charge of unsafe driving.
Unsafe driving still carries penalties of its own, but they are far less severe than what you would receive for a reckless driving conviction.
Free Consultation with a New Jersey Reckless Driving Lawyer
If you have been charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, the costs can follow you for years through high insurance premiums and a possible license suspension. To avoid the worst of these penalties, you need the help of a New Jersey reckless driving lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC to find the best outcome possible.
Please give us a call to schedule a free consultation at your convenience. You can also fill out the form at the bottom of this page to have an associate call you at a particular time. Do not wait to start the process of protecting your future finances and wellbeing.