Jean Baptiste & Associates
New Jersey Suspended License Lawyer
Getting a ticket is expensive, but getting your license suspended can result in many far worse consequences. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) tracks violations and penalties, which can include fines, jail time, surcharges, and points on your license.
All of these are extremely detrimental, not only to your finances, but also to your family and career. With the help of a New Jersey suspended license lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC, you can prevent the worst from interfering with your life.
No License Penalties
New Jersey, like every other state, requires every person that drives a motor vehicle to acquire a license after passing tests. If you are caught driving without a license or never having had a license in New Jersey or anywhere else, you could receive several potential penalties:
- A fine between $200 and $500
- A surcharge of $100 a year for three years
- A jail sentence of up to sixty days
- You will be denied a license for at least 180 days
If you have had a license before, but it is expired, you will be fined up to $500, sentenced to jail for up to sixty days—but will not be subject to the 180-day suspension of driving privileges.
After you regain your license and complete the Probationary Driver Program, Driver Improvement Program, or receive an official warning issued by MVC, you will begin your mandatory probation period. If you violate any traffic laws during this probationary period, your license will be suspended again. If you get three suspensions within three years, you may lose your license for as long as three years.
These are serious violations with serious penalties, and you can lose your job, your family may suffer, and you may go into serious debt. You should always fight traffic tickets with the help of a New Jersey suspended license lawyer from our firm to protect both your financial future and your license.
Challenging the Charges
There are several options that an experienced New Jersey suspended license lawyer can pursue, one of which may be that you recently moved from another state and had an issue with your license there. If you were enrolled in a driver education course and were under appropriate supervision at the time of the ticket, there may be grounds for a challenge as well.
Driving without a license or with a suspended license are serious penalties, and you should not try to contest these charges without a New Jersey suspended license lawyer’s help. The scenarios detailed above are just a couple of the possibilities that may apply to your case, and we’ll identify the best course of action for yours to get the charges reduced or dismissed.
Get Your Case Evaluated by a New Jersey Suspended License Lawyer
Regardless of how dismal the prospects may seem, you may be able to avoid the worst of the penalties for a suspended license. You need your license to get your kids to school, get yourself to work, and to live your life to the fullest, so don’t let the violation go unchallenged.
If you have had your license revoked or suspended, please call a New Jersey suspended license lawyer from Jean Baptiste & Associates, LLC. You can also schedule your free consultation through the form below. Protect what is yours and your family’s by getting experienced legal representation now.